Technique Squad June Blog Hop

This month’s technique is painting with bleach. I think I prefer this to stamping with bleach but I have a fear of bleach. I can be messy and I don’t want to spill. Anyone else dislike working with bleach?

I punched out 2″ circles and tried bleach on each of them to pick what colors I wanted to work with. I didn’t expect white or vanilla to change but I was really surprised when black didn’t change.

I then found a sketch I thought was perfect because it let me pull in multiple colors to transform with the bleach. I’m using the Atlantic Hearts Sketch Challenge Sketch 425.

After adding the half inch strips of cardstock to the black cardstock, I stamped using Whisper White craft ink and embossed with clear embossing powder. I reinked my stamp pad right before using it and stamped twice so I could get a crisp image. I painted the bleach on the colored cardstock strips. I wish I’d taken a picture before the bleach so you could see how much it changed.

I even altered the square vellum doily by cutting off the corners.

There is a black circle behind the doily so it doesn’t get lost and the sentiment is from the Many Messages stamp again using Whisper White craft ink.

Blog Roll
Nicole Mahler
Amy Jo Farkas Rudd
JoAnn Pollock (me)
Vy Tran
Kristie Strum
Mackenzie Grimme

Supplies:
Stamp Sets – Many Messages, Wild Roses
Die Cutting & Embossing – Layering Circles dies, Messages die
Ink – Whisper White craft stamp pad
Paper – Basic Black cardstock, Basic White cardstock, Coastal Cabana cardstock, Gorgeous Grape cardstock, Granny Apple Green cardstock, Pearlescent Specialty Paper
Accents & Embellishments – Square vellum doilies
Coloring Tools – paint brush and bleach
Tools – Paper Trimmer, Simply Scored, Stamparatus, Stampin’ Cut & Emboss Machine, Heat tool
Adhesive – Stampin’ SEAL, Black Stampin’ Dimensionals, liquid glue

Click here for links.

#stampinup #cardmaking #jpollockdesigns #handmadecards #handmadecard #GDPwinner #WildRosesStampinUp #WildRosesStampSet #WildRoses #ManyMessagesStampinUp #ManyMessagesStampSet #ManyMessages

14 thoughts on “Technique Squad June Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: June 2021 Technique Squad Blog Hop – Painting With Bleach | Mackenzie Makes

  2. Pingback: June 2021 Technique Squad Blog Hop – Painting With Bleach – The Tygress Den

  3. foleysfriend

    Beautiful card! If I hadn’t read your blog post, I would have thought you had used patterned paper for the stripes. I’m liking the “soft” and “wispy” feel of your bleached stripes. Thanks for joining us at Atlantic Hearts Sketch Challenge.

    sue n.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. patty

    Very interesting technique! I’m wondering if the bleach leaves a chlorine odor on the paper?
    I do like the transformation and love the colors in your card!
    Thanks for sharing with Atlantic Hearts Sketch Challenge
    Patty S, Design Team

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Allisa Steinlicht

    Great card….love the unique look. I personally struggle with using bleach in the laundry room without spilling it….I don’t trust myself to bring it into the craft room! Thanks for playing with us at Atlantic Hearts Sketch Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.