Technique Blog Hop – Mock Croc

This month’s blog hop technique is Mock Croc also known as faux alligator/crocodile. Nicole is really good at finding techniques I’ve never tried or in this case heard of but I loved it.

I started by running a little piece of adhesive on the back of my cardstock and sticking it to a piece of printer paper. Next I covered it with with Versamark ink by dragging and tapping my ink pad all over the cardstock. After that, you coat it with clear embossing powder. Then you drag a bone folder through the embossing folder to create lines, draw them diagonally one way and then the other. You don’t want straight lines which is fortunate for me because I’m incapable of drawing straight lines, I didn’t try very hard to make these lines wobbly. Finally you use your heat tool to melt the embossing powder, this takes a little time.

I started by making a treat box because to me mock croc looks like it should be on a bag.

Then I decided to make a card featuring the background. I think it looks really elegant in black.

Blog Roll
Carole Garrison
JoAnn Pollock (me)
Mackenzie Grimme
Kristie Strum

Supplies:
Stamp Sets – So Sentimental
Die Cutting & Embossing – Mini Curvy Keepsakes box dies, Stitched So Sweetly dies
Ink – Memento Tuxedo Black, Versamark
Paper – Basic Black cardstock, Basic White Thick cardstock, Silver Foil Sheets
Accents & Embellishments – Pearl Basic Jewels, Metallic Pearls, Glittered Organdy Ribbon, white baker’s twine
Coloring Tools – Cherry Cobbler Dark Stampin’ Blends, Clear embossing powder, Silver embossing powder
Tools – Paper Trimmer, Simply Scored, Stampin’ Cut & Emboss Machine, Take Your Pick, Heat tool, bone folder
Adhesive – Stampin’ SEAL, Black Stampin’ Dimensionals, Tear & Tape

Click here for links.

2 thoughts on “Technique Blog Hop – Mock Croc

  1. Pingback: February 2021 Technique Blog Hop – The Tygress Den

  2. Pingback: February 2021 Technique Blog Hop – Mock Croc Technique

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.