Technique Blog Hop – Blending Brushes

This month’s technique is to use blending brushes. I LOVE blending brushes. You know I’ve been using them since before Stampin’ Up! started carrying them so I’m really excited they’ve joined in on the fun. I decided to do a silhouette at sunset for my ink blending. I don’t have any current silhouette stamps so I colored mine in using my Basic Black dark Stampin’ Blends marker

For the inking, I started by die cutting a circle out of a post-it note for the sun and putting it on a piece of Whisper White cardstock (I haven’t gotten my Basic White yet and I have a lot of Whisper White cardstock.) I inked in a circle around the “sun” using Daffodil Delight. I then used Poppy Parade for the outside. Wow, reds are harder to blend. 🙂 I had a hard time leaving enough of the Daffodil Delight behind so you may want to go a little lighter on the Poppy Parade than I did. 🙂

I used gold embossing powder on vellum for the dragonfly and then I inked it with the blending brush and Bermuda Bay to give it a little color. I think this card would look even better if I spritz it with shimmer paint…hmmm… Yep, I like it better with shimmer paint.

Post-it note to mask off the sun

Blog Hop
Nicole Mahler
Mackenzie Grimme
Tracie St-Louis
JoAnn Pollock (me)
Kristie Strum

Supplies:
Stamp Sets – Dragonfly Garden
Die Cutting & Embossing – Layering Circles dies
Punches – Dragonflies punch
Ink – Bermuda Bay stamp pad, Daffodil Delight stamp pad, Poppy Parade stamp pad, Memento Tuxedo Black stamp pad, Versamark stamp pad, Basic Black Stampin’ Blends combo
Paper – Whisper White cardstock, Whisper White Thick cardstock, Vellum cardstock
Coloring Tools – Blending Brushes, Frost White Shimmer Paint, Stampin’ Spritzer, Gold embossing powder
Tools – Paper Trimmer, Simply Scored, Stampin’ Cut & Emboss Machine, Stamparatus, Heat tool
Adhesive – liquid glue

Click here for links.

7 thoughts on “Technique Blog Hop – Blending Brushes

  1. Pingback: January 2021 Technique Blog Hop - Blending Brushes - Mackenzie Makes

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.